2013 resolutions

Since this past year’s worked out so well, might as well do this again :).

  • Finish Kanzen Master N2+N1.
  • Graduate!
  • Make sentences for every item in renshuu’s library.
  • Reach 15k words in CorePlus.
  • Finish the Tanuki sentences deck.
  • Finish my sentence deck(9000 sentences to go!).
  • Read all Dictionaries of Grammar cover to cover (sentences already included in the sentence deck).
  • Read at least 5 novels in Japanese.
  • Manage to understand at least one full anime episode without subs.
  • Manage to understand a full movie without subs.
  • Practice, practice, practice!
  • Spend at least 50 hours studying per month.
  • Practice keigo and business Japanese.
  • Aim for the N1!
6 thoughts on “2013 resolutions

  1. Just reading these resolutions inspires me, especially since you just passed the N2!

    Question: Do you have any advice for what to tackle after Core6k in terms of sentence decks and grammar resources? I am less than 2000 short of doing that, have read A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar, completed the Tae Kim deck on Anki, and am aiming to ultimately pass the N1 (in July 2015, which gives me time to study but none to slack off).

    I was thinking about tackling the Tanuki Ultima deck on Anki and working my way slowly through the Kanzen Master books (while reading more and more native material), but I’d love to hear your advice.

    • The Tanuki Ultima deck is pretty good, yeah. The Dictionaries of Japanese Grammar and their assorted decks are also invaluable resources for me (though I suck at remembering them ^^’). I only seriously started diving into native material when I had about ~10k words under my belt, but it’s been great :).

      (and I keep meaning to go through Kanzen Masters but unfortunately I suck at textbooks).

      What I did immediately after core6k was experiment with all sorts of programs and decks; I think I spent the following 2-3 months just starting new things and seeing how I’d manage, erasing dozens of decks after only using them for a week, until I found something steady to hold on to. Core6k is great since it gives you a long-term and steady goal, which helps keep motivation, and it can be hard to dive straight into a chaos where everything is improvement but not as easily measured 😛

      Unfortunately my improvement this year hasn’t been as impressive as last year’s, so I’m not sure whether or not I’m ready for the N1 ^^’. I really, really hope so, though.

  2. Thanks for the response. I downloaded the Tanuki deck and decided to study five cards per day (to increase my chances of smoothly transitioning out of Core6k and into another system that I can tackle little by little over a long span of time).

    Not sure if I can pass the N1 either (in the time I want to anyway). If I can’t then, however, I will sometime after. And I’m betting you’ll do the same too.

  3. Pingback: 2013 resolutions result | Learning Japanese: A Journey

Leave a Reply

