What long-running animes are for

A bit of a bragging moment, if you don’t mind :).

About 1100 days ago I was starting to learn Japanese (didn’t actually start till a year after that but let’s not get into that one…). Back in the day I was still in highschool and very much into anime. I started marathoning One Piece.

One Piece is this series which started airing about 10+ years ago and is currently at episode 500 or so. It’s a show filled with puns and onomatopoeia and kanjis everywhere, despite many names and places being fictional and in katakana. Aaanyway. So I started marathoning it before my first ever japanese lesson, right? After getting to episode 400 or so I dropped it. So, when I was still impressed by the fact that I can write my name in katakana and read 日本ご(since I hadn’t even studied 語 yet)

Recently I remembered it and decided to marathon from where I left it off. It is amazing to go back to a show and suddenly get everything, from the “kids, watch this at a reasonable distance from the telly” announcement to random gags found on shirts, to titles and what not. Actually getting the dialogue. Understanding the puns and names of the fruits (ゴムゴムのみ、アワアワのみ、闇闇のみ、etc). Amazing I say. ❤

P.S. Brag moment no. 2, finally got the boyfriend to let me teach him some Japanese. Let’s see how that works out.

P.P.S. Brag moment no. 3, finally picked up the RTK book again, after a month-long break.

One thought on “What long-running animes are for

  1. I did a One Piece marathon about from 4 months back til 1 month ago from episode 1. By the end I pretty much understood everything.

    I had tried watching it 1.5 years ago for about 20 episodes but I had no idea what they were saying.

Leave a Reply

